Is it okay to eat moldy cheese?

Mold generally can't penetrate far into hard and semisoft cheeses, such as cheddar, colby, Parmesan and Swiss. So you can cut away the moldy part and eat the rest of the cheese. Cut off at least 1 inch around and below the moldy spot. ... These molds are safe for healthy adults to eat.