What is the most expensive house in the world?

The most expensive house in the world is likely the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina. Biltmore House was built for George Washington Vanderbilt II between 1889 and 1895 and is the largest privately owned house in the United States, at 178,926 square feet (16,622.8 m ) of floor space.