What happens if you shave a dog's whiskers?

You should not do mean things like shave off a dog's whiskers. Dogs & cats use their whiskers to tell where they are in space & to figure out if a place is large enough for them to go through it. Cutting them off would be like covering your skin in cement so you couldn't feel anything.