What happened to alexandria?

Alexandria was heavily damaged by the Saviors during their assault. After the defeat of the Saviors, the residents returned and repaired Alexandria. Following Rick Grimes' disappearance, the safe-zone was led by Rick's wife, Michonne Grimes, and continued to be a thriving community.