Why do people call coffee a cup of joe?

Although nobody knows for sure, it is speculated that the term Cup of Joe stems from a ban on alcohol on U.S. Navy ships in 1914 by Secretary of the Navy Josephus "Joe" Daniels. After that order, near the beginning of World War 1, the strongest drink a sailor could get on a ship was black coffee.