How many years does it take to make a trip around the sun?

It takes the planet Earth 365.256 days, known as a sidereal year, to orbit the sun. The closest planet to the sun, Mercury, takes about 88 Earth days. The most distant planet, Neptune, takes almost 169 sidereal years to orbit the sun.