What is the definition of imperial?

Imperial, spelled I-M-P-E-R-I-A-L, describes something as being in relation to an empire.

---

imperial ADJECTIVE relating to an empire. "Britain's imperial era" (of a size of paper) measuring roughly 762 × 559 mm (30 × 22 inches). NOUN a small pointed beard growing below the lower lip (associated with Napoleon III of France).