What are poll taxes?

After Reconstruction, the twelve-year period of rebuilding that followed the Civil War (1861–1865)—many southern states passed poll taxes in an effort to keep African Americans from voting. Many African Americans (and others impoverished) who could not pay the tax were deprived of their rights.