What is chucky based on?

Chucky is an American horror television series created by Don Mancini and based on the Child's Play film franchise. Chucky's full character's name, Charles Lee Ray, is derived from the names of notorious killers Charles Manson, Lee Harvey Oswald and James Earl Ray.