Who sings crazy bout a mercury?

One of my favorites, Mercury Blues, which contains the lyric, crazy bout a mercury, was recorded by Alan Jackson in 1993. One source states that it was originally Mercury Boogie when written in 1949 by K.C. Douglas and Robert Geddins and recorded by Douglas