What does r. a. stand for in college?

Resident advisor, or resident assistant. These are people, usually upperclassmen, who live amongst first and sometimes second year students in dormitories to help them adjust to college life and help them to follow the rules.

---

Two options. Either Resident Advisor in housing, or Research Assistant in academics.