Does cheese freeze well?

You can freeze cheese successfully if you're planning to use it for cooking purposes. Frozen cheese will remain safe to consume, but will typically change texture and often become crumbly once thawed, per the National Dairy Council. It can also be grated before freezing and placed in a freezer bag.