Is a potato a rhizome?

No. A potato is considered a tuber. Tubers have nodes, (often called “eyes” on potato tubers), that appear anywhere on the flesh, and sprout both new shoots and new roots, while rhizomes sprout roots along the bottom of the growth, and stems along the top.