What are emeralds made out of?

Emerald is a gemstone and a variety of the mineral beryl colored green by trace amounts of chromium and sometimes vanadium. Beryl has a hardness of 7.5–8 which does reduces the resistance to breakage .

---

The chemical composition is Be3Al2(SiO3)6. Emerald's green color is caused by trace amounts of chromium or vanadium.