What's the difference between second degree and third degree murder?

Second degree murder is an intentional murder that lacks premeditation, is intended to only cause bodily harm, and demonstrates an extreme indifference to human life. Third degree murder or Voluntary manslaughter occurs when a person is strongly provoked and kills in the heat of passion.

---

Second degree murder means the killer intended to kill the victim, but didn't plan to do so prior to the act. Third degree murder is also known as voluntary manslaughter…meaning the act leading to death was voluntary, but the resulting death was not.