How is sedimentary rock formed?

Pieces of rock are loosened by weathering, then transported to a basin or depression where sediment is trapped. If the sediment is buried deeply, it becomes compacted & cemented, forming sedimentary rock. Clastic sedimentary rocks may have particles ranging in size from microscopic clay to boulders.