How to cut bok choy?

Trim and discard the thick base of the bok choy stem. Use a sharp knife to slice off the bottom 1⁄2 to 1 inch just above where the base of the leaves connect. Pull off and discard any outside leaves that are discolored. You will be left with several long individual bok choy stalks.