Are eggs coated in something?

No eggs are not coated in something in the USA. In the United States eggs go through vigorous washing leaving only the shell. In Europe eggs are coated in "bloom" which is a protective layer the hen adds to the outside of the egg. This coating seals the shell pores, prevents bacteria.