What happened to rick grimes in the walking dead?

Rick presumably blows himself up to save his friends and family from a herd of the undead. But later, Rick washes up along a bank where he's found by Anne and she bargains for his life over a walkie-talkie and the two are picked up by a mysterious helicopter.