What cause the fires in australia?

The fires in Australia, at the end of 2019 and beginning of 2020, were thought to be caused by Lightning, arsonists, & power distribution transformers. It's difficult to pin down the exact cause of each wild fire. Extremely hot, dry, & windy conditions have added to the intensity & number of fires.