How is pickle juice made?

Pickle juice, otherwise known as a brine, is made by combining vinegar, salt, some sugar, and a variety of pickling spices such as dill, cardamom, and others. The brine is heated in a pot and poured over raw cucumbers in a large glass jar. The jar is sealed and then allowed to sit for a time.