What does out dente mean?

Al Dente is an Italian phrase that translates as "To The Tooth". This is pasta that is cooked just to the point that there is still just retaining a small remaining firmness that can be felt when crunched by your teeth. This generally occurs about 7-8 minutes into the boil when prepared.