How do you lose enamel on your teeth?

This should be answered by a dentist, but, I believe you lose enamel throughout your life from several causes. One is the food you eat. Sugary foods and acidic foods can affect your enamel. Also, you could lose enamel through injury. Enamel doesn't grow back so it's important to protect it.