When was the united state's civil war?

The US Civil War started on April 12th, 1861 with the shelling of Fort Sumter in Charleston Bay, South Carolina. It effectively ended when General Robert E. Lee surrendered the Army of Northern Virginia at Appomattox on April 9th, 1865. The last land surrender didn't happen until June 23rd, though.