What was the panic of nineteen oh seven?

From Wikipedia- The Panic of 1907 – also known as the 1907 Bankers' Panic or Knickerbocker Crisis[1] – was a financial crisis that took place in the United States over a three-week period starting in mid-October, when the New York Stock Exchange fell almost 50% from its peak the previous year.