Who is rosie the riveter?

Rosie the Riveter is an allegorical cultural icon in the United States who represents the women who worked in factories & shipyards during World War II, many of whom produced munitions and war supplies. These women sometimes took entirely new jobs replacing the male workers who joined the military.