Why did sony by spider-man?

The deal allowed Sony to retool its prized superhero at a time when the studio had run out of ideas for the Marvel property. Sony, which finances the Spider-Man movies, reaped the profits and kept its key piece of intellectual property alive.

---

Marvel sold Spider-Man to Sony after filing for bankruptcy in 1996. Marvel reportedly wanted a larger cut of the gross revenue percentage made by the studios' co-produced films than Sony was said to be offering.