In minecraft do you have to tame an axolotl?

Feed them a bucket of fresh tropical fish

---

Yes you have to tame axolotl. To tame you simply need to catch them in a bucket! Then they will be happy to swim along with you next time you go into water. Axolotls will act a lot like aquatic dogs and attack hostile mobs on your behalf. They'll fend off Drowned, Guardians, and even attack fish.