Why do people bite coins?

People bite gold coins to make sure they are authentic. A fake gold coin would be either too soft, or too hard to bite depending on what method they used to create it. Gold coated lead coins would be easy to bite, while biting an alloy created with a harder metal wouldn’t even leave a mark.