Who developed the concept of horsepower?

The term horsepower was adopted in the late 18th century by Scottish engineer James Watt to compare the output of steam engines with the power of draft horses.

---

James Watt, who invented steam engines, figured out a mathematical way to equate horses to engine power. Thus the term horsepower was invented. Watt measured the capability of a big horse to pull a load and found it could pull a weight of 150-pounds while walking at 2.5 miles per hour.