Why do dogs snort when happy?

When dogs are in an excited state, they often sneeze more shallowly, emitting a snorting sound caused by a sudden force of breath from the nose. These are not sneezes the way we think of a sneeze in people, which is a respiratory response from deep down. They are simply breathing more rapidly.