What if the moon was smaller?

A smaller moon means less scattered sunlight at night—that's all moonlight is—which would mean darker nighttimes. Whatever life forms did evolve on this altered Earth would have had to develop bigger or more sensitive eyes to help them navigate, forage and spawn at night under this diminished glow.