How long has minecraft been out for?

Minecraft was first publically released on 17th May 2009, as a developmental release on TIGSource forums, later become known as the Classic version. Further milestones dubbed as Survival Test, Indev and Infdev were released between September 2009 & February 2010, but the game saw updates in-between.

---

Minecraft was first released to the public on 17 May 2009, as a developmental release on TIGSource forums, later becoming known as the Classic version.