How long did chernobyl last?

Despite the nuclear meltdown that made Chernobyl & surrounding areas a fallout zone, the plant kept operating for 14 more years. Containment efforts & monitoring continue, & cleanup is expected to last until at least 2065. Thousands work there daily. The area will be uninhabitable for 20,000 yrs.