How does a white elephant gift exchange work?

everyone draws a number number 1 goes first They pick a gift and opens it Then number 2 goes They can pick a new gift or pick the one that number 1 opened. If they pick number 1 gift then number 1 picks again So the last number gets to pick any of the opened gifts or pick the last wrapped gift left.