Tell me about japan's cherry festival?

Hanami "viewing flowers" festivals are held all over Japan in the spring where blossom-viewing is treated like a picnic under the trees. Blooms are symbolic of the impermanence of beauty featured in art to depict the concept of mono no aware, the wistful realization that "nothing lasts forever."