What's the definition of refrain?

The definition of refrain is to stop oneself from doing something. A refrain can also be a repeated line or number of lines in a poem or song, typically at the end of each verse or a comment or complaint that is often repeated.

---

A Refrain means a regularly recurring phrase or verse especially at the end of each stanza or division of a poem or song : chorus. also : the musical setting of a refrain. : a comment or statement that is often repeated.