What kind of cheese is blue cheese?

Blue cheese is a generic term used to describe cheese produced with pasteurized cow's, sheep's, or goat's milk and ripened with cultures of the mold penicillium. Blue cheese generally has a salty, sharp flavor and a pungent aroma.