How long did jimmy johnson coach?

1965-1999, Jimmy Johnson began as an assistant coach at Louisiana Tech University, for the next fifteen years he coached at some level at five difference schools. In 84, he was head coach at University of Miami. 89-93, he coached the Dallas Cowboys, then Miami Dolphins until his retirement in 1999.