What happened to the colony of roanoke?

The settlers, who arrived in 1587, had disappeared by 1590, leaving behind only two clues: the words "Croatoan" carved into a fort's gatepost and "Cro" etched into a tree. Theories about the disappearance have ranged from an annihilating disease to a violent rampage by local Native American tribes