What is the difference between a fruit fly and a nat?

Color: Fruit flies range from tan to black. Fungus gnats are dark gray or black. Shape: Thinking about fruit flies or gnats in comparison to other pests can help identify them. Fruit flies have a rounded silhouette like a smaller version of the common house fly.