What is the definition of vert?

The word Vert, (as a noun) means: a vertical or very steeply sloping part of a ramp, used by skateboarders, snowboarders, skiers, etc., to perform jumps and other maneuvers. The word vert, originated in the 1970s: and is an abbreviation of vertical.