Why is momo scary?

The human brain is wired to read faces and Momo doesn't fit the patterns.. Momo’s face is humanlike, but her bulging eyes and distorted mouth are distinctly nonhuman. Momo is actually a sculpture called Mother Bird created by artist Keisuke Aisawa. Once you see the bird-like body it's not as scary.