How many years does it take to become a dental hygienist?

The length of time needed to become a dental hygienist depends on career goals and the level of training desired. A dental hygiene diploma typically takes 18 months to two years, while a bachelor's degree may take up to four years. A Master's degree will require an additional one to two years .