Who is the original host of the late show?

The Late Show first aired on CBS in August of 1993, & was originally hosted by David Letterman. He had previously hosted a show on NBC, Late Night with David Letterman, from 1982 to 1993. Letterman hosted The Late Show until his retirement on May 20th, 2015.