What do locust eat?

Plants! Locusts, also called grasshoppers, eat soft or dried plant matter of all types. Favorites vary, but soft grasses, foliage, and most crops from carrots and potatoes to corn, wheat and tomatoes are yummy. A better question is “What plant do locusts NOT eat?”, because they eat most plants.