What kind of caterpillars bite?

Caterpillars do not bite humans. Some species, however, have stinging spines that can cause an irritating rash if you touch the caterpillar. Stinging species include the buck moth caterpillar, spiny oak slug caterpillar, hickory tussock moth caterpillar, saddleback caterpillar & io moth caterpillar.