What's the mexican standoff?

A Mexican standoff is a confrontation in which no strategies are available in which a party sees a foreseeable path to victory. It ends in either mutual destruction or mutual retreat. It is also the name of a cocktail beverage comprised of tequila and a lime mixture or other liquors.