How do you scientist turn moondust into oxygen?

Based on lunar rock samples, scientists know that the moon's soil contains about 40 to 45 percent oxygen by weight. But harvesting it is difficult. To separate the oxygen from other components, the researchers use a technique called molten salt electrolysis.