How can you tell if a chicken is a girl or a boy?

This is extremely difficult when the chickens are just babies--chicks--but you definitely know by the time they grow up. Roosters and hens look completely different. However it takes a professional to determine the gender of a baby chick because it involves examining their internal parts.